Making IT Happen Award

Criteria, which the program has historically referred to as the eight components of the Formula of Success, are in place to assist state, regional, and national educational organizations in selecting awardees.

Recipients of the awards are educators who:

  1. Apply available technology now
  2. Move forward and don’t look back
  3. See students as real people
  4. Teach through relationships, inspiring, encouraging, nurturing
  5. Recognize that further change is necessary, but understand that it is a process
  6. Realize that teacher empowerment is the key element to technology integration
  7. Expect success
  8. Motivate through awareness and access to information


David Tebo, Hamilton Community Schools


Michelle Ribant, MDE


Judy Paxton, MI Learning Project Manager and MACUL Journal Editor
Ric Wiltse, MACUL Executive Director


Susan Hardin, Macomb Intermediate School District (PDF Documentpress release)
Marie Zuk, Educational Technology Consultant (PDF Documentpress release)


Margaret Lincoln, Lakeview School District (PDF Documentpress release)
Barbara Fardell, Michigan Department of Education (PDF Documentpress release)


Jo Ellen Miskowski, MACUL Board Member


Bruce Umpstead, Michigan Department of Education


Andy Mann, Calhoun Intermediate School District (Word Document press release)
Bill Wiersma, MACUL SIG Liaison (Word Document press release)


Ricki Chowning, Regional Educational Media Center Association of Michigan


Elizabeth Bauer, Michigan State Board of Education
James Wenzloff, Macomb Intermediate School District


Jamey Fitzpatrick, Michigan Virtual University